PTV Scientific Advisory Board

PTV Group’s mission is to always keep abreast of technology and market needs. We are committed to readying our suite of transportation modeling and logistics optimization software for the challenges of today and tomorrow.

In the PTV Scientific Advisory Board we engage with researchers from around the world to discuss latest modeling trends, research results, and the potential for turning these into robust software tools for professionals. The Board comprises eight members, each a thought-leading expert in a topic area. To ensure that topics across all of PTV Group’s fields of activity are covered, members are appointed for at most two years, and half of the topics are replaced by new ones every year. Fresh thinking is more important than long-time usage of our software: We intentionally cast our net farther than what our products currently cover, so we can identify opportunities for expansion into new application areas.


Marilo Martin-Gasulla

Marilo Martin-Gasulla
Product Manager for Academia & Research at PTV Group
International Member and Website Manager of the TRB Standing Committee on Roundabouts and other Intersection Design and Control Strategies (AKD80)

Guide Gentile

Guido Gentile
Professor of Transportation Engineering at DICEA
Sapienza University of Rome
and management board member at PTV Sistema

Klaus Nökel

Klaus Nökel
Head of Innovation Department at PTV Group

Members of the PTV Scientific Advisory Board 2020

Vittorio Astarita

Professor of Transportation engineering, Head of teaching transportation laboratory in the Department of Civil Engineering, University of Calabria

Expert for: Traffic Safety

Wout Dullaert

School of Business and Economics, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Expert for: Logistics and supply chain

Gilbert Laporte

Professor, Department of Decision Science, HEC Montréal

Expert for: Innovation in vehicle routing

Hong K. Lo

Head and Chair Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering Director of GREAT Smart Cities Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Expert for: dynamic transportation system modeling

Markos Papageorgiou

Professor and Director of the Dynamic systems and Simulation Laboratory, Technical University of Crete, Greece

Expert for: Real Time Traffic Control

Francisco C. Pereira

Professor Technical University of Denmark (DTU) Research Afilliate, MIT Intelligent Transport Systems Lab

Expert for: Machine Learning for Mobility Lab (ML^2)

Michael Schneider

Deutsche Post Chair – Optimization of Distribution Networks RWTH Aachen University

Expert for: heuristic and exact methods for logistics optimization problems